verbosevictoria

Painting heart-cries, word by word

Guard Up! June 28, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — verbosevictoria @ 10:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This morning I felt the need for some perspective so I listened to a sermon given by Norm Willis about guarding our hearts during the trials that must come to each person. He specifically emphasized guarding your heart against offense.

So great, I’ve got a little perspective, I’m on my way out the door, here goes the day.

I’m in line at the butcher’s, which is a pretty chatty kind of place. People say hello, the butcher asks how the kids are, you know how it is. So there’s another mom in line ahead of me and she has a 3 week old newborn and a toddler. She turns to me and asks, “When are you due?”

*sigh*

I don’t really blame people for asking because I kind of perpetually look about 4 months pregnant. It’s just how things are for me right now. Still, it gets a little depressing having to explain over and over that I’ve already had my baby.

So I politely said, “Oh! I’ve already had him.”

She looked surprised and asked, “How old?”

“Four months.”

“What?! Why do you still have a pooch?!” (referencing my postpartum belly)

She put both her hands on her own tummy, and looked at me with self-satisfaction on her face. And then she proceeds to say this little zinger: “My pooch is all gone and it’s only been a few weeks!”

I’m going to be kind and not talk about our different body types.

At this point, I’m thinking “is this real life?” I’ve rarely come across someone willing to cross a woman, a STRANGER, in regards to her post-baby body. But now I’m getting it from ANOTHER MOM who just underwent childbirth? No compassion? Really?!

Apparently so. Alrighty then.

So I kept my cool and responded with this: “Well, it was my fifth so I figure that gives me a free pass to having a bit of a belly.”

She then decides to share that it must have been having stairs in her house and a toddler to chase after. She keeps active, see?

“Yeah, I keep pretty active myself. Chasing FIVE kids and all…”

We went our separate ways soon after that. At least the lady at the check out backed me up. I called my mom and my husband to get the experience out of my system before it soured my spirit. At one point I asked my mom, “Why didn’t I say something mean?!” and she said, “I don’t know. Why didn’t you?!”
Hehe. I love my mom.

But I knew even in that moment, I couldn’t respond that way. And I guess that’s what I get for deciding to work on guarding my heart against offenses.

 

One Response to “Guard Up!”

  1. Steven Says:

    I’d love to get some zingers in, but I almost never come up with them until the next day or two..


Leave a Reply

