verbosevictoria

Painting heart-cries, word by word

Nitpicking Emails November 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — verbosevictoria @ 9:04 pm
Tags:

For the first time in a long time, I have followed up on a lead for a local writing assignment. I wrote an email to request more information and I was struggling with wording it just right. Not too formal, not too needy, experienced without sounding cocky or boring, interested without sounding desperate–you get the idea. My husband finally interrupted my nitpicking and reminded me to keep it short, simple, and to the point.

“Why are you getting so worked up over this? It’s not that big a deal,” he said.

Why am I getting worked up?
WHY AM I GETTING WORKED UP?!

Well, I want this. I want this job, which makes me anxious about doing something wrong. When I’m anxious, I freak out and nitpick two sentence emails to death.
It’s not my dream job or anything. It’s a job where I could be useful and be part of my community, which I value highly. But it’s not my writing fantasy. It’s silly to get so worked up over it, but I guess I see it as another tiny, tiny shuffle in the direction of committing to the fact that I am a “real” writer.

I did start to think about what I would say if someone at this publication asks me what qualifies me to be a freelance writer. At first, that made me nervous too. Then I thought about it deeper and realized I could definitely say a few things for myself.
So. Here are my few accomplishments:

*Maintained two blogs for a total of 8 years, writing between twice a week to once a month
*Currently assisting college students in editing and proofreading course papers and thesis papers
*Proofreading screenplays, short stories, emails, etc
*Church history narrative for Christ Covenant Church
*Taking minutes in various meetings over the last two years for church ministries
*Several articles published in a local paper
*Attended local writers’ group for two years at Middlefield Library; published short stories in group newsletter
*Putting together advertisements for church ministries
*Guest post on other blogs
*Speaking engagement for MOPS (Mothers Of PreSchoolers)

That’s all I can think of right now, but I’m sure I’m forgetting things. Add to all that the number of half-finished stories, tucked-away essays and blog posts, and freewriting exercises I have in my computer and I’m starting to feel much better about my qualifications. Not to mention I homeschool my four children, am a voracious reader, and manage to stay current with social trends online.

You know what?
This IS my forte.

 

Leave a Reply

