verbosevictoria

Painting heart-cries, word by word

Glorified Thinking July 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — verbosevictoria @ 8:22 am

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you NOT to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”  –Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love

In a recent blog post on immersionstrategies.com, Bill Livingston wrote a thought-provoking post about our intrinsic value as creations of God. We somehow think it’s more “Christian” if we keep asserting “I am nothing.” We think we’re being humble, when really we’re giving a bad report about our Father and gifting Satan with our timidity. Strong words, but it’s the truth. What would Satan have to fear from a people who crawl around feeling like scum all the time? Those aren’t world-changers.

And that’s exactly how I’ve been living my life for the past 20-odd years. I haven’t believed I’m an awesome creation of God, destined for good works that God had in mind specifically for me (Eph. 2:10). I have been blind to what God sees when He looks at me–or what anyone else sees, really. All I have seen is someone unworthy of praise or attention, someone borrowing time on other people’s compassion, someone who is defined by failure and smallness.

That is not who I am. THAT IS NOT WHO I AM.

Did God take the trouble to create me, placing me in generations of family, strategically joining me with a wonderful man, making me the mother of four beautiful children–did He do all that just so I could spend most of my time running away from how much I hate myself? I don’t think so! He created a woman who would be full of His glory and reflect His glory back to Himself. I am full of Christ’s glory (John 17:20-25).

What does Christ’s glory look like in me? I guarantee it isn’t the small, shriveled thing I see. The beauty of His perfect love is now MY identity. I am not the Victoria I’ve made in my own eyes. I am HIS Victoria, the one HE designed, redeemed, and sanctifies.

And now I wonder–what will change? Now that I believe I am who God says I am, what will change?

Do you believe it?

 

Leave a Reply

