verbosevictoria

Painting heart-cries, word by word

What I Love To Do June 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — verbosevictoria @ 9:49 am

“Great writing is unnatural. It is not simply a gift. It is not genetic. The power to use words–to tell a story, to make poeple understand what they do not know, to make them see what they could not imagine before–is a talent, and talent is not given or taken. Talent is earned, through dedication, hunger, care. It is born of a desire to share the fruits of imagination and experience with the readers, just as you have been educated and entertained by the labors of other writers. It grows from a commitment to making others see and appreciate what you have seen and appreciated. Thoughtful writing is a way of replenishing the well from which sustenance has been drawn.”
~Pat Walsh, 78 Reasons Why Your Book May Never Be Published

“And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ–to the glory and praise of God.”
~Philippians 1:9-11

I love to replenish that well of sustenance. I love to give the gift of insight to someone else. I love to provide help and encouragement and a word-laced kick-in-the-pants for those who need it. I love to see people grow, maturing in their faith and ideals, galvanized towards acting out their destiny by the power of words. This is what I love. This is what I long, yearn, dream of giving.

My passion for words, knowledge, insight, discernment, and all the rest of it–that is why I read, why I blog, why I journal, why I compose letters, why I use the best word instead of the easiest one. Anytime I am in the process of words and ideas, my heart is full and overflowing. My desire to share what I learn burns bright in me, fanned by a God-given love for people.

This is what I love to do.

 

5 Responses to “What I Love To Do”

  1. Victoria, Thanks for sharing your heart and keep writing.

  2. Writing is hard! 🙂


Leave a Reply

