verbosevictoria

Painting heart-cries, word by word

My Voice May 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — verbosevictoria @ 12:03 pm

I have a pleasant singing voice. American Idol wouldn’t look twice, but it’s what I call a “church” voice. I like my voice, although it is a little awkward. I got a pretty even meld between my dad’s melodious folk tones and my mom’s powerhouse stage presence. When I’m just goofing off, singing silly songs or songs I hear on the radio, my voice is okay. Generally on pitch, a semblance of control, that kind of thing.

But when I start singing for God? Something changes in my voice. When I declare my God’s greatness, when I cry out for His mercy, when I thank Him for His love, the Holy Spirit rises up in me where I can never go on my own. I don’t know what it’s going to sound like half the time.

I find it amazing that God rejoices in the sounds we make to Him, whether in tune or wordless shouts. It’s like I can feel His great heart swell with pride in what He has made and what He has done in us. And I can hear Him saying things like, “You have no idea how much more I have for you.” His presence is like the rumble of thunder in my spirit and I open my mouth to let what praise I can make come tumbling out of all I am.
Glory to God for my voice!

 

Leave a Reply

